Portal for offbeat places – namastay.in

Namastay.in is a webportal for searching/booking accommodation at off beat places – like homestays, guesthouses, resorts etc anywhere in India. The portal has very good number of listings and has detailed reviews of all the listings. The highlight of this portal is probably the video clippings of the home stays/resorts/guest houses etc. Very innovative and very useful.

I first saw a print advertisement of namastay.in portal on Corner House in Koramangala. I was mighty impressed by the poster. I visited the portal as soon as I came back home. Alas, the website was down. I tried multiple times the next day and every time it was down.  A very bad thing to happen for some one who is spending money in advertising thier website. May be the money should first be invested in proper web hosting provider.

Any way, after repeated attempts one fine day, I was able to access the website. It looked sleek. But felt that the landing page seems too simple.  There is no link for even registering one self. There is only a “sign in” link and it does not even tell how to register. Looks like the registration is possible only at the time of payment (not sure as I did not attempt any payment).

Overall, a very useful portal, except that the landing page can have more content and site map can be made slightly better from usability perspective.

I read at http://www.metacafe.com/channels/namastay.in/ that, Ashish Mehra and Rekha Goyal, folks who started this are able to sustain themselves with this!

I am really happy to learn that and it only gives me inspiration to start doing something I am more passionate about, than spend entire life in a full time job.

Leave a Reply

